Search at

Beethoven from Cello Sonata No. 4

This year marks the 250-year anniversary of Beethoven’s birth. Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra cellist Hanna Dahlkvist and pianist Darya Tchaikovsky play the first movement of Beethoven’s Cello Sonata No. 4.

In a brief introduction, the musicians describe the music as composed by a great humanist.

Beethoven’s five cello sonatas span his entire lifetime of composition and the three major phases into which his works are typically divided. The first movement of the fourth sonata begins with a simple, slow theme that builds up to an entire universe of musical whimsy, charged with emotion. This magnificent music in a small format never ceases to surprise.

Award-winning pianist Darya Tchaikovsky was born in Minsk, Belarus, but now lives in Stockholm. Hanna Dahlkvist has been a member of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra since 2015 and is also the cellist in the Dahlkvist Quartet.

  • The music

  • Ludwig van Beethoven From Cello Sonata No. 4
  • Participants

  • Hanna Dahlkvist cello
  • Darya Tchaikovsky piano
  • Filmed 3 April 2020.
  • Released on webb 18 April 2020. 
  • The video is approximately 10 minutes.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​