Search at


Music for the mother of clarinet with Orpheus Baroque: a journey in the borderland between baroque and classicism.

The chalumeau is the predecessor to today’s clarinet and was common in the Baroque era. Pieces composed for the instrument are often performed on modern clarinets, but here, we will hear the music as it was intended to sound. In this music, we move through the 18th century stylistic borderland between baroque and classicism, with Georg Philipp Telemann and Wilhelm Friedemann Bach as typical examples of this transitional period.

The soloists in Telemann’s Concerto for Two Chalumeaux are the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s clarinettist Alf Hörberg and Lorenzo Coppola, who will also lead Orpheus Baroque at this concert. We will also hear music by Bach’s son, Wilhelm Friedemann: the dazzling Sinfonia, music at the border of Baroque and early Classicism, and Haydn’s elegant Symphony No. 53, often called L’imperiale.

Lorenzo Coppola is a European authority on Baroque music and has performed with the most prominent ensembles with a focus on older repertoires, including Les Arts Florissants, Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century and the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra. Alf Hörberg is fascinated with period music and was a member for many years of the world-renowned Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century in Amsterdam, led by Frans Brüggen.

Since its formation in 2015, Orpheus Baroque Stockholm has grown into an important part of the capital city’s music offering, serving as a meeting place for philharmonic musicians and some of Sweden’s foremost freelance Baroque musicians.

The critically acclaimed ensemble collaborates with guest conductors such as Alfredo Bernardini, Dan Laurin, Peter Spissky, Luca Guglielmi, Göran Karlsson and Mariangiola Martello, and soloists such as Anders J. Dahlin and Kristina Hammarström. The artistic directors are the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s solo cellist Johannes Rostamo, and concertmaster and Baroque violinist Elin Gabrielsson.

  • The music

  • Georg Philipp Telemann Concerto in d minor for two chalumeaux, strings and basso continuo
  • Wilhelm Friedemann Bach Sinfonia in F major "Dissonant" Fk 67
  • Intermission: a conversation with Lorenzo Coppola
  • Joseph Haydn Notturno in F major “Notturno for the King of Naples” Hob II:26
  • Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 53 "L’imperiale"
  • Joseph Haydn Trio Movements from Hob XI, version for clarinet, viola and cello
  • Participants

  • Orpheus Baroque Stockholm
  • Lorenzo Coppola leader & chalumeau soloist
  • Alf Hörberg chalumeau
  • Christopher Öhman viola
  • Johannes Rostamo cello
  • From a livestream 14 February 2021.
  • The video is approximately two hours.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​