Search at

Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3

Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3 is a musical miracle that includes the famous piece Air! Bach and Baroque expert Ton Koopman leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, giving this performance extra vigour.

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Orchestral Suite No. 3 includes one of classical music’s most popular pieces – Air. We hear it often in different arrangements, but here, Ton Koopman shapes Bach’s sublimely beautiful melodic lines into a heavenly, elevated musical experience. 

Bach’s orchestral suites consist of several alternatingly fast and slow dances, which was the fashion in the Baroque era. In addition to Air, which is slightly divergent in this context, we also hear Gavott, Bourrée and Gigue. The longest movement is the introduction’s overture. Through the weight of the introductory movement, Bach’s orchestral suites are also often called “overtures”.

Dutch conductor, organist and harpsichordist Ton Koopman is one of the great experts in Baroque music of our time. He has primarily dedicated himself to the music of Bach, and it is thus incredibly special when, together with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, he treats us to a concert of Bach’s complete third orchestral suite. 

  • The music

  • Johann Sebastian Bach Orchestral Suite no. 3
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Ton Koopman conductor
  • Filmed in May 2015.
  • The video is approximately 19 minutes.