Search at

Music for three

Skittles for three in the company of Mozart, as well as music by Darius Milhaud and Joan Tower. A chamber concert with members of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra: Patrik Swedrup violin/viola, Johan Fransén clarinet and Stefan Lindgren piano.

Mozart met the phenomenal clarinettist Anton Stadler and soon, his music was filled with the warm tones of the clarinet. Stadler was one of the most acclaimed musicians of his time and they likely spent time together outside of musical circles. Perhaps they also played skittles (Kegelstatt) together.

This lyrically beautiful trio was intended to be performed by Mozart’s student Franziska von Jacquin on piano, Anton on clarinet and Wolfgang Amadeus himself on viola. Here, concertmaster Patrik Swedrup of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra will exchange his violin for a viola and handle the solo section.

In the piece Rain Waves, American composer Joan Towers conveys the evocative, shifting intensity of rain. This music moves in dynamic waves, in which the notes can be interpreted as raindrops. The concert will begin with Milhaud’s understated suite, in which his interest in Brazilian and American pop music melds with French lightness.

  • The music

  • Darius Milhaud Suite for clarinet, violin and piano
  • Joan Tower Rain Waves for violin, clarinet and piano
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Trio for clarinet, viola and piano "Kegelstatt" KV 498 20 min
  • Participants

  • Patrik Swedrup violin/viola
  • Johan Fransén clarinet
  • Stefan Lindgren piano
  • From a livestream 7 May 2021.
  • The video is approximately 43 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​