Search at

Rising stars: Aris Quartett

Tomorrow’s stars. German string quartet Aris Quartett performing music by Schulhoff, Schubert and a new piece by Japanese Moshizuki.

Rising Stars is a unique and forward-looking collaboration between 22 of Europe’s leading concert halls, all members of the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO). Six young musicians and ensembles from various countries are selected each year and given the opportunity to tour the concert halls and perform before international audiences.

Don’t miss the opportunity to hear tomorrow’s classical music stars today. Experience shows that those who are selected as Rising Stars also have internationally successful careers. This year’s Rising Stars will be presented during an intensive weekend of chamber music at Konserthuset Stockholm.

Aris Quartett, nominated by Konzerthaus Dortmund & Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, formed in Frankfurt am Main in 2009. The quartet has positioned itself as an exciting young ensemble; they have performed on stages such as Wigmore Hall in London, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and Musikverein in Vienna.

The concert opens with a suite of five pieces by Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff from 1924, each of which is dedicated to a dance – the Viennese Waltz, Serenade, Folk Music, Tango and Tarantella. We will also hear a performance of a new composition by Misato Mochizuki, who was born in Tokyo in 1969 and is active as a composer in Europe and North America. It concludes with Schubert’s last string quartet, published posthumously and made known long after his passing. It is an innovative and ambiguous piece all the way into a dramatic finale.

  • The music

  • Erwin Schulhoff Five Pieces for string quartet
  • Misato Mochizuki in-side for string quartet
  • Franz Schubert String Quartet in G major op 161
  • Participants

  • Aris Quartet
  • Published online 20 February 2021.
  • Filmed 16 February 2021.
  • The video is approximately one hour and fifteen minutes.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​