Search at

Higdon and Glass

A quartet from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra plays music by two New Yorkers of different generations: Jennifer Higdon and Philip Glass.

American composer Philip Glass studied under the legendary Nadia Boulanger in Paris. During those years, he developed the minimalist style that became his defining characteristic and which has made him one of the most popular modern composers of our era.

In Paris, he collaborated with the theatre company Mabou Mines and composed music for many of their shows, including a staged rendition of Samuel Beckett’s novella Company. The four movements are closely connected, while also spanning a broad range of feelings, such as melancholy, insolence, a sense of something idyllic and eager anticipation. Beckett liked the music very much.

Like Philipp Glass, Jennifer Higdon lives in New York. In her Sky Quartet, she paints a musical vision of the “exquisite canvas of blue and clouds” she observed west of the Mississippi. Amazing Grace is her bold, lovely version of the familiar melody.

From the first violin section of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra we hear Anna Stefánsson and Seohee Min, from the viola section Nadine Jurdzinski and from the cello section Hanna Dahlkvist.

  • The music

  • Jennifer Higdon Sky Quartet for string quartet
  • Philip Glass String Quartet No. 2 "Company"
  • Jennifer Higdon Amazing Grace for string quartet
  • Participants

  • Anna Stefánsson violin
  • Seohee Min violin
  • Nadine Jurdzinski viola
  • Hanna Dahlkvist cello
  • From a livestream 29 January 2021.
  • The video is approximately 42 minutes.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​