Search at

Music for Winds and Piano

A quintet by Beethoven and a world premiere.

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Wind Quintet (Andreas Alin flute, Jesper Harryson oboe, Johan Fransén clarinet, Jens-Christoph Lemke bassoon och Kristofer Öberg french horn) will be presenting something incredibly special on this concert: the world premiere of Maria Lithell Flyg’s Lament and Tear. 

Maria Lithell Flyg’s music is emotional and expressive, with a streak of sadness mixed in with absurdist humour. Of Lament and Tear, she says that between the rhythmically vivacious sections, a melancholy lament emerges. The tears people cry, as well as the damage of tearing, are both encompassed by the word’s use in the title.

It is often said that Beethoven’s quintet for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano was inspired by one of Mozart’s quintets (K. 452), which was composed ten years earlier. Perhaps it was. It is written in the same key and has the same instrumentation. But the two pieces also have many dissimilarities. Because it is entirely certain that in this quintet which holds the deepest gravity, the most elegant of dialogues and thematic playfulness, it is Beethoven’s voice we hear.

  • The music

  • Maria Lithell Flyg Wind Quintet "Lament and Tear" (World Premiere)
  • Percy Grainger One More Day My John "Sea Chanty Settings No. 1" for piano
  • Percy Grainger The Merry King for piano
  • Percy Grainger Irish Tune from County Derry for piano
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Quintet in E flat major for piano and winds op 16
  • Participants

  • Kungliga Filharmonikernas Blåsarkvintett
  • Bengt Forsberg piano
  • From a livestream 13 November 2020.
  • The video is approximately 55 minutes.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.