Search at

Shostakovich & Maier-Röntgen

Music by Shostakovich and Amanda Maier-Röntgen.

The playful and poetic Piano Trio No. 1 by Shostakovich was composed while he still was a student at the conservatory in Saint Petersburg, and it was dedicated to Tatyana Glivenko, the love of his youth. 

Swedish composer Maier-Röntgen was a child prodigy and moved on to study in Leipzig in the late 1800s, the centre for musicians and composers of the day. Performed here is her romantic and expressive piano trio in E flat major, a piece that was presumed lost only to be rediscovered in 2016. 

Joakim Svenheden is principal concertmaster of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, and Marie Macleod its principal cellist. They are joined by pianist Martin Sturfält, a frequently invited guest at Konserthuset Stockholm.

The music is presented by Klas Gagge acts, himself a cellist of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, and with a profound knowledge of Amanda Maier-Röntgen’s music.

  • The music

  • Dmitry Shostakovich Piano Trio No. 1
  • Amanda Maier-Röntgen Piano Trio
  • Participants

  • Joakim Svenheden violin
  • Marie Macleod cello
  • Martin Sturfält piano
  • Klas Gagge presenter
  • From a livestream 7 May 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​