Search at

Classics with Ton Koopman

Ton Koopman leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Mozart and Roman. The young piano phenomenon Alexandra Dovgan joins in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2.

The young Russian pianist Alexandra Dovgan is exceptionally talented. She was born in 2007 and has already performed at many of the most prestigious venues, including Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Berliner Philharmonie. World-renowned pianist Grigory Sokolov elevates her to new heights and she has performed solos with the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra and the symphony orchestra at the Moscow Conservatory, where she is still a student. Here, she will play Beethoven’s charming and elegant Piano Concerto No. 2.

The conductor will be Baroque specialist Ton Koopman, who will lead the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Johan Helmich Roman – often referred to as the father of Swedish music. And with good reason. After travelling through Europe, where he was influenced by Handel and Italian music, he returned to Sweden and built up our increasingly rich musical scene. He is best known for Drottningholm Music, but here, we will hear one of his most beautiful, elegant, and melodically vivid sinfonias.

Just like Roman’s Sinfonia, Mozart’s Symphony No. 36 begins with a slow section that transitions into an allegro. Mozart composed the symphony in the autumn of 1783, after visiting friend and patron Count von Thun in Linz, where he also organised a concert. Because he had not taken any music with him on the trip, in just two days he composed this symphony which, naturally, is called “Linz”.

  • The music

  • Johan Helmich Roman Sinfonia in G major BeRI 15
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No. 36 “Linz”
  • Intermission: Conversation with Ton Koopman
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2
  • Johann Sebastian Bach Jesu bleibet meine Freude from Cantata No. 147, version for piano arr Myra Hess
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Ton Koopman conductor
  • Alexandra Dovgan piano
  • From a livestream 12 May 2021.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 34 minutes.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​