Search at

Grieg & Tjajkovskij

The strings of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra performing romantic music in a live broadcast from Konserthuset Stockholm.

The first piece is named From Holberg’s time. Who was this Holberg? It refers to the Norwegian author Ludvig Holberg (1684–1754). In 1884 Edvard Grieg wrote his suite to celebrate 200 years since Holberg was born, and just like Grieg himself Holberg was from the city of Bergen. In the music, consisting of five shorter movements, Grieg made use of dance forms of the baroque – from Holberg’s time. 

”This is a piece from the heart and so, I venture to say, it does not lack artistic worth”, Tchaikovsky wrote in a letter about the four movement Serenade in C of 1880 – music of practically symphonic dimensions. Here melancholy sings, and the gracious walz of the second movement is as lovely as only something written by Tchaikovsky can be.

The strings of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic orchestra are led by Joakim Svenheden, concert master since 2000. Prior to this, he held the same position at the London Philharmonic Orchestra for many years. He has performed as a soloist with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra on several occasions, and he is an avid chamber musician.

  • The music

  • Edvard Grieg From Holberg's Time for strings
  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky Serenade in C major for strings
  • Participants

  • Strings of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Joakim Svenheden leader
  • From a livestream 29 April 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​