Search at

Haydn Sinfonia concertante

Italian baroque specialist Luca Guglielmi leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and soloists from the orchestra in Joseph Haydn’s enchanting Sinfonia concertante for oboe, bassoon, violin and cello. 

 A sinfonia concertante can be described as a cross between a symphony and an instrumental concerto with multiple soloists. One of the finest examples of a sinfonia concertante is this one by Haydn for oboe, bassoon, violin and cello. Four orchestra members will perform the solos this time: Andrej Power on violin, Johannes Rostamo on cello, Jesper Harrysson on oboe and Jens-Christoph Lemke on bassoon.

This music by renowned master Haydn blends the different sounds and virtuosity of the four solo instruments with elegance and intensity. In the elevated, beautiful second movement, the four soloists follow one another as if in peaceful conversation, while the finale is a vivacious rondo in which the four soloists gain extra energy from the accelerating orchestra.

This was Italian conductor, pianist and early music expert Luca Guglielmi’s debut with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

  • The music

  • Joseph Haydn Sinfonia concertante
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Luca Guglielmi conductor
  • Andrej Power violin
  • Johannes Rostamo cello
  • Jesper Harryson oboe
  • Jens-Christoph Lemke bassoon
  • Filmed in November 2019.
  • The video is approximately 22 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​