Search at

Pictures at an Exhibition – by Agnas

The music by Mussorgsky with a new twist for octet.

Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition is one of the best known classical works. This music illustrates ten paintings by the artist Viktor Hartmann, who died suddenly at the age of 39. To pay tribute to him, his friends, including Mussorgsky, arranged an exhibition in 1874 in St. Petersburg with over 400 of his works.

Gripped by the memories the exhibition called to mind, Mussorgsky quickly composed his piano suite Pictures at an Exhibition that same year. The so-called promenade theme, which serves as a transition between the different “pictures”, has become very well known.

Here, we will experience the piece in a special arrangement by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s solo trumpet player Joakim Agnas, who is also a jazz musician. He was a member of Stockholm Chamber Brass for many years and is also a studio musician, arranger and composer. He has composed a number of popular fanfares.

  • The music

  • Modest Musorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition arr Joakim Agnas
  • Participants

  • Emma Agnas de Frumerie violin
  • Daniela Bonfiglioli violin
  • Catarina Skoog Aquilonius viola
  • Kajsa William-Olsson cello
  • Joakim Agnas trumpet
  • Max Agnas piano
  • Maurits Agnas bass
  • Nils Agnas drums
  • From a livestream 23 April 2021.
  • The video is approximately 45 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​