Search at

El Sistema National Orchestra

During the autumn holidays, the El Sistema National Orchestra held a music camp in Södertälje and Stockholm - and as the grande finale a concert was held at Konserthuset Stockholm. In this music video, you will not only experience the concert itself, but also get to meet many of the young people in the orchestra and hear them talk about their passion for music.

El Sistema National Orchestra is a unique youth orchestra consisting of members from 11 to 19 years of age, from schools of arts and El Sistema programmes all over Sweden. This concert rounds off the music camp held in Södertälje and Stockholm during the period 26–29 October 2020.

Music by Ludwig van Beethoven, Frida Swedén, Kina Sellergren, Tormod Tvete Vik, Benjamin Staern and Carlos Medrano. El Sistema National Orchestra is led by the Venezuelan conductor Ron Davis Alvarez.

The music camp is supported by the El Sistema Sweden Foundation and the Swedish copyright organisation Stim, with support from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra/Konserthuset Stockholm, Sveriges Radio Symphony Orchestra/Berwaldhallen, El Sistema Södertälje and Södertälje stadsscen.

  • The music

  • Frida Swedén Fanfare for a Dreamer
  • Kina Sellergren Fanfare for Hubben
  • Ludwig van Beethoven From Symphony No. 5
  • Tormod Tvete Vik Suite for Hope
  • Benjamin Staern From A Streak of the Sea
  • Carlos Medrano Merengue del primero
  • Trad Ritmos Ciganos arr Carlos Carcia/Tormod Tvete Vik 2 min
  • Participants

  • El Sistema National Orchestra
  • Ron Davis Alvarez conductor
  • Published online 2 November 2020. 
  • Filmed 29 October 2020.
  • The video is approximately 35 minutes.