Search at


In the acclaimed performance of Genesis, charismatic clarinetist and conductor Martin Fröst builds upon music from 300 years before the beginning of our era and spans musically up to our time.

Clarinetist and conductor Martin Fröst continuously explores different aspects of the essence of music, creating new artistic expressions with both old and newly written music. The origins and development of classical music comprise the theme of Genesis, and we get to follow along on a journey through musical history, from ancient jester traditions to brand new music by Anders Hillborg. In between are wonderfully swinging klezmer pieces, musical invocations and bustling Baroque.

“It’s all connected, and the music also reflects people. When I listen to a modern piece, I sometimes experience a cross-section of musical history layered into the music. Because so much more unites old and new music and music from different parts of the world than one might think. For example, this can be heard when the piece ‘Jag vet en Dejlig Rosa’ transitions into Olivier Messiaen’s ‘Les offrandes oubliées’. Or how Anders Hillborg’s newly composed piece is a response to Hildegard of Bingen’s music, which is nearly 900 years old,” comments Martin Fröst on his performance of Genesis. 

  • The music

  • Anders Hillborg Incantation
  • Mesomedes / Hildegard von Bingen Ancient Suite, arr Jonas Forssell
  • Georg Philipp Telemann Presto from Concerto for recorder, flute, strings and harpsichord, arr Jonas Forssell
  • Astor Piazzolla La muerte del Ángel
  • Jonas Dominique Duo No 1 & 2 for clarinets
  • Robert Schumann Mit Humor "Vanis Vanitatum" from 5 Stücke im Volkston op 102:1
  • Trad Roligs-Pers Polska, arr Hans Ek
  • Anders Hillborg Hymn of Echoes
  • Anders Hillborg Hyper Run from Clarinet Concerto "Peacock Tales", Millenium Version
  • Trad Åsens Psalm, arr Hans Ek
  • Jonas Dominique Duo No 3 for clarinets
  • Witold Lutoslawski Symphonic Variations
  • Thomas Jennefelt from Virita Criosa for treble choir
  • Trad Jag vet en dejlig rosa, arr Hans Ek
  • Olivier Messiaen Les offrandes oubliées
  • Anders Hillborg Primal Blues
  • Göran Fröst Klezmer Dance No 2
  • Béla Bartók Romanian Folk Dances III-IV
  • Jonas Dominique Duo No 4 for clarinets
  • Trad Let's Be Happy, arr Göran Fröst
  • Anders Hillborg Hyper Exit
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Martin Fröst conductor & clarinet soloist
  • Cecilie Løkken flute
  • Sara Cazzanelli clarinet
  • Magnus Holmander clarinet
  • Sandra Ibarreche clarinet
  • Olof Wendel cimbalom
  • Adolf Fredrik's Girls Choir
  • Karin Bäckström chorus master
  • Ambra Succi choreography
  • Linus Fellbom lighting design
  • Filmed in December 2015.
  • The video is approximately 1 hour and 42 minutes. 
  • The video is also featuring an interview with Martin Fröst and a behind-the-scenes documentary (starting about 46 minutes into the film). 
  • Subtitles in English, German or Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​