Search at

Mozart, Hillborg & Shostakovich

All good things are three. High-class Mozart with pianist Angela Hewitt, Anders Hillborg's latest orchestral work and Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony. The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra plays under the direction of Sakari Oramo.

Sakari Oramo concluded his time as chief conductor of the orchestra last spring, and the members of the orchestra appointed him Conductor Laureate. He returned to the podium once again at this concert, with music by Anders Hillborg, who has praised Oramo’s approach to interpreting his work.

The new piece Through Lost Landscapes (2019) was a joint commission to Anders Hillborg by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, the Castile and León Symphony Orchestra (which gave the world premiere), the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. 

Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt regularly performs worldwide. She has appeared at Konserthuset Stockholm previously, most recently in 2013 in a recital of music by Bach and Beethoven. In this concert, she is the soloist in Mozart’s beloved and masterfully elegant Piano Concerto No. 22, which in the final movement in particular offers melodic echoes of the opera The Marriage of Figaro (composed at the same time, around 1785).

The horrors of World War II were over in 1945 and Dmitri Shostakovich had plans for a ‘victory symphony’ for vocal soloists, choir and orchestra. But his ninth symphony, completed in August 1945, was short and playful, more in the spirit of Haydn. That had a paradoxical explosive force: the dances and circus effects of the music challenged Joseph Stalin’s image of Soviet power and the symphony was banned in 1948.

  • The music

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Piano Concerto No. 22
  • Encore: Robert Schumann Liebeslied ’’Widmung’’, version for piano arr Franz Liszt
  • Interview with Sakari Oramo
  • Anders Hillborg Through Lost Landscapes
  • Dmitry Shostakovich Symphony No. 9
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Sakari Oramo conductor
  • Angela Hewitt piano
  • Published online 24 October 2021.
  • Filmed 14 October 2021.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 35 minutes. 
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​