Search at

Retrotopia with Martin Fröst

Retrotopia is the latest in clarinettist and conductor Martin Fröst’s ground-breaking projects, challenging the boundaries of how classical music concerts are perceived. Watch a unique concert video from the world premiere with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in Konserthuset Stockholm.

Developed in collaboration with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra (Retrotopia being the third such presentation, following ‘Dollhouse’ in 2013 and ‘Genesis’ in 2015) — Fröst and the orchestra present unprecedented ways of combining music and gesture, resulting in a thematically cohesive entity.

The project transforms traditional performance conceptions and expands the clarinet repertoire with a new commission by Jesper Nordin, Emerge. It is a visionary piece in which the Gestrument (a new motion-sensor technology developed by the composer) controls a virtual orchestra based on Fröst’s movements, creating a unique palette of sound colours.

The repertoire also includes the new piece Exodus: Departure by Victoria Borisova-Ollas (performed together with choreographer and dancer Virpi Pahkinen), Angelus novus by Jacob Mühlrad, and Nomadia by Martin and his brother, Göran Fröst. All placed in focus alongside the music of Mozart and Beethoven, two composers of seminal importance for Martin.

The partnership between Martin Fröst and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra has also resulted in the cd Roots on Sony Classical.

  • The music

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Overture to The Marriage of Figaro
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 4
  • Victoria Borisova-Ollas Exodus: Departure for clarinet solo (first performance)
  • Jacob Mühlrad Angelus novus
  • Göran Fröst/Martin Fröst Nomadia for clarinet and chamber orchestra
  • Jesper Nordin Emerge for clarinet, orchestra and gestrument
  • Göran Fröst Klezmer Dance No. 2 for clarinet and string orchestra (encore)
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Martin Fröst conductor & clarinet soloist
  • Virpi Pahkinen choreographer
  • Linus Fellbom lighting design
  • Filmed in May/June 2018.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 45 minutes. 
  • Subtitles in English, German and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​