Search at

Music and Poetry

In a collaboration between Konserthuset Stockholm’s Monday at Last concert series and the Korsholm Music Festival in Finland, we present a rich mix of rare historical and contemporary music together with the grand Archduke Trio by Beethoven. Actor Miriam Forsberg recites texts by Edith Södergran as well as Dadaistic poetry of the 1920s.

Cecilia Zilliacus violin, Kati Raitinen cello and Bengt Forsberg piano all belong to the top tier of Swedish musicians. This concert was made as a live broadcast without any audience in the Grünewald Hall at Konserthuset Stockholm during the coronapandemic in April 2020. 

Marcelle de Manziarly (1899–1989) was born in today’s Ucraine but grew up and studied in France, with Nadia Boulanger among others. The Piano Trio composed in 1921 is a youthful and inspired work where influences from Stravinsky can be noticed.

Russian born (1973) composer and pianist Lera Auerbach is based in the US since her teens. Lonely Suite was composed in 2002 to the violinist Vadim Gluzman. Each of the six short movements deals with different aspects of loneliness.

British composer Anna Clyne (born in 1980) is based in the US. Rest these Hands was orginally one of the movements in a larger piece for the violin, called The Violin. The title Rest these Hands is a line from one of the poemes that Anna Clyne’s mother Colleen wrote at the end of her life. This cello version was premiered at Konserthuset Stockholm by Kati Raitinen in 2015.

Ludwig van Beethoven’s (1770–1827) most important supporter in Vienna was Archduke Rudolph, who was Kaiser Leopold II’s youngest son and a piano student of Beethoven. A number of pieces were dedicated to Rudolf, including this piano trio of symphonic dimensions – often called the Archduke Trio. Beethoven himself participated in a performance of this trio in 1814 which was to be his last public performance as a pianist, due to the deterioration of his hearing.  

  • The music

  • Marcelle de Manziarly Piano Trio F sharp minor
  • Lera Auerbach Lonely Suite “Ballet for a Lonely Violinist”
  • Anna Clyne Rest these Hands, version for cello
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Piano Trio B-flat Major “Archduke” op 97
  • Participants

  • Cecilia Zilliacus violin
  • Kati Raitinen cello
  • Bengt Forsberg piano
  • Miriam Forsberg recitation
  • From a livestream 15 April 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 37 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​