Search at

Soup Concert with String Quartet

Philharmonic musicians play Haydn and Haydn-inspired music by Caroline Shaw.

Joseph Haydn is often referred to as the father of the string quartet. And rightly so, for in his continuous exploration of music, he created the string quartet as a form. He composed sixty-three string quartets and the very last is Opus 77 No. 2, which we will hear performed by a quartet from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. It is “my most beautiful quartet”, said Haydn himself, and it is also music overflowing with melodic force and rhythmic energy.

Caroline Shaw (born 1982) is an American violinist, singer and composer. She won the Pulitzer Prize in Music for her Partita for 8 Voices, which is used in the Netflix series Dark. Her Entr’acte was directly inspired by Haydn’s quartet Opus 77 no. 2. “I love the way some music (like the minuets of Op. 77) suddenly takes you to the other side of Alice’s looking glass,” says Caroline Shaw on this piece of music.

  • The music

  • Caroline Shaw Entr’acte for string quartet
  • Joseph Haydn String Quartet in F major op 77:2
  • Participants

  • Gabriel Cornet violin
  • Rena Kimura violin
  • Lauriane Dahlkvist viola
  • Peter Volpert cello
  • From a livestream 15 January 2021.
  • The video is approximately 45 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​