Search at

Janine Jansen plays Bach

Janine Jansen leading the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

Violinist Janine Jansen works regularly with the world’s most eminent orchestras and conductors and has been described by the New York Times as being as “riveting in silence as in sound”. She has performed with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra on several occasions.

This time she acts both as soloist and leader of the orchestrea in Bach’s Violin Concerto in E major, which according to Jansen herself has one of the most beautiful slow movements in all the violin repertoire by Bach.

The Beethoven Septet opus 20 in E flat major was dedicated to the Austrian archduchess Maria Theresia. It is music aimed to please, and Beethoven – celebrating 250 years in 2020 – does it of course with grace and finesse. Among the seven instruments (clarinet, bassoon, french horn, violin, viola, cello and double bass) the violin stands out being the sole instrument in high register. 

  • The music

  • Johann Sebastian Bach Violin Concerto No. 2 in E major
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Septet in E flat major
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Janine Jansen leader & violin soloist
  • Vicki Powell viola
  • Marie Macleod cello
  • Håkan Ehrén double bass
  • Hermann Stefánsson clarinet
  • Fredrik Ekdahl bassoon
  • Martin Schöpfer horn
  • From a livestream 13 May 2020.
  • The video is approximately 58 minutes.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​