Search at

Liszt & Bruckner

Alexandre Kantorow enchants the audience with his playing in Liszt's second piano concerto and Bruckner specialist Simone Young leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in the composer's hour-long sixth symphony.

The young pianist Alexandre Kantorow is acclaimed for his glowing, intense and poetic depth of performance. In 2019, at the age of 22, he became the first French pianist ever to win the prestigious Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

Since then, Kantorow has toured with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra, and given recitals at Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall and more. He was supposed to have debuted at Konserthuset Stockholm last spring, but was prevented from doing so by the pandemic. Now we will finally get to hear him with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Simone Young, in Franz Liszt’s poetically narrative and vibrantly masterful piano concerto.

Conductor Simone Young grew up and studied in Australia, but has a world-leading German and Austrian repertoire. In 2005 she became the first woman to conduct the Vienna Philharmonic and she spent many years as artistic director of the Hamburg State Opera and chief music director of the Hamburg Philharmonic.

Austrian Anton Bruckner is one of her favourite composers, and here, she and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra take on Symphony No. 6, which Bruckner described as his “most daring”. This music is filled with elevated beauty, rhythmic multitudes and melodic splendour. With a run-time of approximately 55 minutes, it is also his shortest.

  • The music

  • Franz Liszt Piano Concerto No. 2 in A major
  • Encore: Igor Stravinsky Finale from The Firebird, version for piano arr Guido Agosti
  • Encore: Johannes Brahms Ballade in d minor "Edward" for piano op 10:1
  • Interview with Alexandre Kantorow
  • Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 6
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Simone Young conductor
  • Alexandre Kantorow piano
  • Published online 7 November 2021.
  • Filmed 28 October 2021.
  • The video is approximately two hours.
  • The concert can be seen until 6 May 2022.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​