Search at

Martin Fröst soloist & conductor

Music by Piazzolla, Copland and Beethoven.

Martin Fröst has in recent years collaborated with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in many inventive and pioneering concert projects. Three of these can be seen at the Konserthuset Play channel. The final project of this series, Exodus, is scheduled for the 2020/21 season. In parallell with his career as world-renowned clarinet soloist, Fröst also conducts and he is the newly appointed chief conductor of the Swedish Chamber Orchestra. In this livestream from May 27th, he performs in both capacities.

Argentinian bandoneon player and composer Astor Piazzolla revolutionized the traditional tango and brought it to the domains of concert halls and art music. Oblivion is one of Piazzolla’s most well-known compositions, existing in many versions and arrangements. This time, the melancholy music is set for solo clarinet and chamber orchestra.

It was the American jazz clarinetist Benny Goodman that commissioned a clarinet concerto from his compatriot Aaron Copland. ”I made no demands on what Copland should write”, Benny Goodman said, but there was a dialogue where Copland listened to Goodman’s suggestions. The two movement work is composed for clarinet, strings and harp. The first movement being more inturned and lyrical, the second faster and showing several jazz elements. Goodman first performed the concerto in 1950, and recorded the music with the composer conducting.  

Martin Fröst and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra conclude the concert with Beethoven’s first symphony. It was first performed on 2nd April 1800 at the Burgtheater in Vienna. The composer was 29 years old and already known for both his music and his integrity. The atmosphere here is idyllic, almost pastoral, but also dramatic and powerful with swirling strings and grand wind playing.

  • The music

  • Astor Piazzolla Oblivión, version for clarinet and string orchestra
  • Aaron Copland Clarinet Concerto
  • Ludwig van Beethoven Symphony No. 1
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Martin Fröst conductor & clarinet soloist
  • From a livestream 27 May 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89. Thank you!
Read more/use a different payment method