Search at

Mattei & Honeck

Peter Mattei sings Mahler’s gripping songs.

With appearances on prestigious stages such as the Metropolitan in New York, Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Covent Garden in London, Opéra National de Paris and Salzburger Festspiele, Peter Mattei is one of Sweden’s most prominent internationally active singers by far. He has performed at Konserthuset Stockholm many times before, most recently with highly acclaimed interpretations of Schubert’s Winterreise with pianist Lars David Nilsson. Now we will hear him with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in a selection Mahler’s most beautiful songs.

The charismatic Austrian conductor Manfred Honeck has had a unique career. For over ten years, he has been chief conductor of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and previously served as head of the Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. He is also a regular and very popular guest conductor of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

Here Honeck leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in Brahms’ Symphony No. 1. This majestic symphonic masterpiece is infused with tension, electricity, beauty and finesse. 

  • The music

  • Gustav Mahler Rheinlegendchen ur Des Knaben Wunderhorn
  • Gustav Mahler Des Antonius von Padua Fischpredigt ur Des Knaben Wunderhorn
  • Gustav Mahler Revelge ur Lieder
  • Gustav Mahler Der Tamboursg’sell from Lieder
  • Gustav Mahler Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen from Rückert Lieder
  • Intermission: Conversation with Peter Mattei
  • Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 1
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Manfred Honeck conductor
  • Peter Mattei baritone
  • From a livestream 29 April 2021.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 30 minutes.
  • The concert can be seen until 28 October 2021.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​