Search at

Mendelssohn & Schumann

Featuring on stage the acclaimed violinist Janine Jansen in Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy's lyrical violin concerto. In addition: Schumann's Second Symphony. The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra plays under the baton of Sakari Oramo.

For many years, Dutch star violinist Janine Jansen has collaborated with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and performed recitals at Konserthuset. Some years ago Jansen was also the concert hall’s artist-in-residence.

Now she will take her place on stage with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra with Sakari Oramo on the podium. The programme includes a classic and beloved violin concerto: Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy’s lyrical Violin Concerto, premiered in 1845 and one of the most frequently performed violin concertos ever. 

In his second Symphony, Schumann was inspired by nature as well as by greats of the past like Bach, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert; especially one notices the message of joy as proclaimed in Beethoven’s ninth. All four movements end in the bright key of C major, as if Schumann wanted to insist that life is, or should be, in C. 

  • The music

  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Violin Concerto in e minor
  • Robert Schumann Symphony No. 2
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Sakari Oramo conductor
  • Janine Jansen violin
  • From a livestream 15 October 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour and 10 minutes.