Search at

Nobel Prize Concert 2013

Italian Riccardo Muti is without question one of the greatest conductors of our time. He led the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in an entirely Italian programme at the Nobel Prize Concert in December 2013.

Riccardo Muti is one of the world’s absolute highest-profile conductors, and he was awarded the 2011 Birgit Nilsson Prize. Muti has an immense integrity where the music always comes first.

In this Nobel Prize Concert, he takes us to his homeland of Italy with Verdi’s Le Quattro Stagioni from the opera Sicilian Vespers. Precisely like the Four Seasons of his predecessor, Vivaldi, we can genuinely hear the storms of autumn, the chill of a winter’s night, the emergence of spring, and the heat of summer.

Italian composer Respighi also portrayed the seasons. In the Pines of Rome, he describes the trees of the city through different times of year. Between the “seasonal works”, Riccardo Muti and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra offer a nocturnal interlude: Giuseppe Martucci’s Notturno. As an encore, Verdi's Overture to The Force of Destiny is performed, after an inspired speach to the Nobel Laureates by maestro himself. 

The Nobel Prize Concert is an annual event of the highest international standard, arranged as part of Nobel Week. The concert is part of the official programme and is in honour of the year’s Nobel Prize recipients. 

  • The music

  • Giuseppe Verdi Le quattro stagioni
  • Giuseppe Martucci Notturno
  • Ottorino Respighi Pines of Rome
  • Giuseppe Verdi Overture to The Force of Destiny
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Riccardo Muti conductor
  • Filmed in December 2013.
  • The video is approximately 1 hour and 27 minutes. 
  • The video is published courtesy of Nobel Media AB.