Search at

Pictures at an Exhibition

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic's brass and percussion in a unique performance of Pictures at an exhibition in Elgar Howart's powerful arrangement. The video stems from a live stream from Konserthuset Stockholm on May 6, 2020. The concert begins with a fanfare by Dukas and music by Rautavaara.

The concert starts off with the Fanfare from Paul Dukas’ ballet music La Péri, and a tale inspired by Persian mythology.

Einojuhani Rautavaaras A Requiem in Our Time from 1953 is an early piece in memory of the composer’s mother. 

Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition is one of the world’s most well-known classical pieces. It depicts the memories of ten paintings by the artist Victor Hartmann, separetad by variations of the ”promenade” music that takes us from one painting to another. Originally composed for the piano, we now hear Elgar Howarth’s powerful arrangement for brass and percussion.

The brass section of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra is led by Andreas Hanson, chief conductor of The Band of the Royal Swedish Army and a frequently invited guest conductor at Konserthuset Stockholm.

  • The music

  • Paul Dukas Fanfare from La Péri
  • Einojuhani Rautavaara A Requiem in Our Time
  • Modest Musorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition, version for brass ensemble arr Elgar Howarth
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic's brass and percussion
  • Andreas Hanson conductor
  • From a livestream 6 May 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89 or make your donation via our ticket system. Thank you!​