Search at

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

American conductor Karina Canellakis is admired for her powerful interpretations and artistic depth. In this recording of the 2018 Nobel Prize Concert, she leads the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s majestic Symphony No. 4.

When conductor Karina Canellakis won the Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award in 2016, it was the launch of an incredible career. That same year, she debuted with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra at the popular outdoor concert at Gärdet in Stockholm. Since then she has returned on several occasions and led the orchestra in music by, among others, Beethoven, Richard Strauss, Szymanowski and Dvorák.

She is continuously invited to conduct the major orchestras, which praise her brilliant technique and ability to bring out the unique expressive power of the music. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 has been with her since childhood. And life was at stake in the composition of this music. “A symphony cannot consist of empty chords, rhythms and modulations. It must express what must be said, but for which there are no words,” said Tchaikovsky. While composing his fourth symphony, he also faced great trials in his life.

The introductory theme by the wind instruments forms the heart, “like an annihilating power standing in the way of happiness. But joy is not lost. There is still happiness – simple, naive happiness. Deriving happiness from others allows one to live longer,” commented Tchaikovsky himself on the gripping, mighty and exhilarating music.

  • The music

  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Karina Canellakis conductor
  • Filmed in December 2018.
  • The video is approximately 45 minutes. 
  • The video is published courtesy of Nobel Media AB.