Search at

Tchaikovsky First movement from Violin Concerto

Star violinist Lisa Batiashvili performance the first movement in Tchaikovsky’s emotional and personal Violin Concerto – one of the most beloved works in the violin repertoire – in this music video from the Nobel Prize Concert in December 2018. The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra plays under the baton of Karina Canellakis.

Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto leaves no one unmoved. A contemporary violinist considered it unplayable, while a celebrated critic found it vulgar and brutal. Today it is one of the most beloved and frequently performed solo concertos. It is overflowing with heartfelt themes and brimming with rhythmic energy, and the masterful solo section is backed by a breathtaking orchestral movement.

Lisa Batiashvili was born into a family of musicians in Tbilisi, Georgia. The family later moved to Germany, and Batiashvili is now a German citizen and lives in Munich. After winning second place at the prestigious Sibelius Violin Competition at just sixteen years old, she has had an unparalleled career as a soloist together with the world’s foremost orchestras and conductors. Lisa Batiashvili has guest-performed with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra on numerous occasions, and has also toured with the orchestra.

The Nobel Prize Concert is an annual event of the highest international standard. The concert is part of the official programme during Nobel Week and is a tribute to the year’s Nobel Prize recipients. In addition to the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, elite musicians and conductors always participate.

The video is shown with permission from Nobel Media AB and Deutsche Grammophon (opens in a new window)


  • The music

  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky First movement from Violin Concerto
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Karina Canellakis conductor
  • Lisa Batiashvili violin
  • Filmed in December 2019.
  • The video is approximately 20 minutes. 
  • The video is a co-production between Nobel Media AB, Sveriges Television and Konserthuset Play.
  • The video will be online until until 10 February 2021.