Search at

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and Magnus Carlson

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and Magnus Carlson from Weeping Willows.

The traditional outdoor concert at the Maritime Museum at Gärdet has been a beloved summer tradition for decades. This year it cannot be held due to the corona pandemic, but that does not mean that the event itself is canceled.

— We want to fulfill our proud tradition, and therefore we will offer a complete and crackling concert in a live broadcast, but indoors from Konserthuset, says Artistic and Executive Director Stefan Forsberg.

This year’s guest artist is none other than the singer Magnus Carlson. He had his breakthrough as the frontman of Weeping Willows, and he has in later years also released succesful solo albums.

Not unlike the famous Swedish tenor Jussi Björling, pop singer Magnus Carlson has the ability of sing with tears in his voice. This melancholy is at the same time a source of musical joy. His distinctive ability to express feelings can now be experienced when he performs with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Evert Taube and Ted Gärdestad – and of course also in material from Weeping Willows.

The concert features a number of popular classical pieces with the orchestra: favorites by Tchaikovsky, Dvorák, Johann Strauss d y and Debussy. The repertoire also includes music that may mean new discoveries for many: such as the lovely orchestral piece Ambarvalia by British composer Ruth Gipps (1921–1999) or the languorous waltz from Suite Boulogne, music composed by Gävle composer Bo Linde in 1966.

Stefan Forsberg will lead the audience through the program and the orchestra is conducted by David Björkman, who has worked with the orchestra on several occasions – most recently at the webcasted National Day Concert in June this year.

  • The music

  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold Military March
  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky Polonasie from Eugene Onegin
  • Evert Taube Änglamark arr Calle Rasmusson
  • Antonín Dvorák Slavonic Dance No. 8 in g minor
  • Ruth Gipps Ambarvalia
  • Ted Gärdestad Sommarlängtan arr Anders Neglin
  • Johann Strauss Jr. Frühlingsstimmen
  • Claude Debussy Clair de lune arr Henri Mouton
  • Magnus Carlson/Anders Hernestam/Ola Nyström/Niko Röhlcke Let Go arr Pål Svenre
  • Bo Linde Valse mignonne from Suite Boulogne
  • Julius Fucik Entry of the Gladiators
  • Participants

  • Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
  • David Björkman conductor
  • Magnus Carlson vocals
  • Stefan Forsberg host
  • From a livestream 16 August 2020.
  • The video is approximately one hour.
  • Subtitles in English and Swedish is activated by using the CC control in the video player.

Do you want to make a donation to Konserthuset Play?
Make a swish payment to 123 493 99 89. Thank you!
Read more/use a different payment method